Monthly Archives: March 2013

Editorial: Goodbye Google Reader – a reminder why open standards matter

This morning I woke up to the announcement that Google will be powering down Google Reader, which has long been my RSS reader of choice. RSS feeds crucial to me because it is where I follow numerous science-related blogs, read automated PubMed searches, and receive tables of content from selected journals.

When I recently bought an iPad Mini, however, I discovered to my surprise that there was no Google Reader app for iPad. This made me strongly suspect that Google had no plans to continue Google Reader. It also made me discover Feedly, which turned out to be so good that I preferred reading my RSS feeds on the iPad as opposed to on my computer. I have now installed Feedly for Chrome as well as the Android applet on my phone, so I consider myself fully migrated already. I think this is a lesson that shows the importance of open standards – whereas RSS feeds are crucial to me, replacing the viewer is no big deal.

Announcement: ICSB2013 in Copenhagen

It is my great pleasure to announce that I coorganize the 14th International Conference on Systems Biology, which will take place in Copenhagen, Denmark on August 30 – September 3, 2013.


The conference will feature presentations on a wide spectrum of systems biology topics from a truly spectacular lineup of international, high-profile keynote and session speakers.

Confirmed keynote speakers:
Alexander van Oudenaarden, NL
Anne-Claude Gavin, DE
Ben Neel, CA
Bernhard Palsson, DK
Chris Voigt, USA
Dana Pe’er, USA
Doug Lauffenburger, USA
Elaine Mardis, USA
Gene Myers, DE
Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, USA
Kim Sneppen, DK
Lars Steinmetz, DE
Levi Garraway, USA
Marc Vidal, USA
Matthias Mann, DE
Peer Bork, DE
Philippe Bastiaens, DE
Rama Ranganathan, USA
Ruedi Aebersold, CH
Stuart Kauffman, USA
Wendell Lim, USA

Confirmed session speakers:
Bernd Bodenmiller, CH
Bob Murphy, USA
Chris Newgard, USA
Eske Willerslev, DK
Felix Naef, CH
Gerard Manning, USA
Giulio Superti-Furga, AU
Greg Stephanopoulos, USA
Haja Kadarmideen, DK
Hans Westerrhoff, NL
James Faeder, USA
Janine Erler, DK
Jasmin Fisher, UK
Jens Nielsen, DK
Lukas Pelksman, CH
Morten Sommer, DK
Neal Rosen, USA
Norbert Perrimon, USA
Rune Linding, DK
Søren Brunak, DK
Thomas Sicheritz Pontén, DK
Mikkel W. Pedersen, DK
Julio Saez-Rodriguez, UK
Michael Lee, USA
Luis Serrano, ES
Nevan Krogan, USA
Seán O’Donoghue, AU
Jonatahn Karr, USA

Organizing committee
Niels-Henrik Holstein-Rathlou
Søren Brunak
Jens Christian Brings Jacobsen
Lars Juhl Jensen
Jens Christian Brasen
Rune Linding
Morten Sommer
Jørgen K Kanters
Olga Sosnovtseva

To find out more, please check out the conference web site.